Guy Fawkes

Hello,

Here is the video we watched in class last week. Why don’t you watch it again and see if you can remember the phrasal verbs in it? I know they are tricky little phrases, which is why I don’t teach them in class, but this is a great way to see them in an authentic way which will, hopefully, help you to understand them better.

If you really, really are an eager beaver then you can take a look at this list which has some of the most common examples!

image

Link | This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Guy Fawkes

  1. whocaaares says:

    thanks for the phrasal verbs link! I tried testing myself out by hiding the 2nd and 3rd columns, and filling them in my mind. I went as far as the letter C (it’s a real accomplishment for a Friday evening …). I’ve been looking around the internet for pages like that, but never found *the* one.
    1) Maybe could this one be better with a more constructive order than the alphabetical order (good for looking up / not so much for learning). Incidentally can’t we spot common connotions if we group the PVs sharing the same adverb ?

    2) I think it would be clearer if they got rid of the ”obvious” PVs – or is it just a relative feeling I have towards some of them (?) like: get up (stand); taking the 2 words separately is precisely what it means, there’s no dark magic there … However: get up (getting out of bed); that’s a real one! (and there we go again, ‘get out’ is another ”obvious” one …) … it’s not easy to explain but I hope you get my point.

    3) the examples don’t really emphasize the rules on
    – where to put the adverb: just after the verb or at the end of the sentence;
    – how to quickly get which ones are, for example, always intransitive;
    – …

    Erm … as you can see I have high expectations of The Book 🙂

  2. methemog says:

    Wow, as far as C, I’m impressed!
    Your comment illustrates the very reason I don’t give a formal lesson on these tricky little beasts. Sadly, no, no and no. There are no common points shared by pvs with the same verb, there is no logical way to order anything that is idiomatic and there aren’t really any rules to follow.
    For me, and I know it’s personal, I like to look at them when they arise in authentic speech, like the video. The Book(!) is ok, but only ok. It is essentially a list of phrasal verbs but it does provide some exercises to give them context and a chance to practise using them properly. I am going to Stalle on Friday so I could leave it there for you if that helps – send me an email with your full name.

Leave a Reply

